Zurich, 12-15 May 2022

27.07.2021 - Zurich becomes a spectacular cycling city for five days

For five days, Zurich will become a cycling city: from 4 to 8 August 2021, CYCLE WEEK will focus on cycling, both locally and thematically. Switzerland's largest bicycle festival is hard to beat in terms of diversity. "The CYCLE WEEK connects everyone and everything to do with bicycles: people and products, city and country, online and offline, adrenaline and relaxation, point A and point B, road safety and sport, young and old, exhibitors and visitors. Everyone can mix their own bike cocktail here," promises OC president Erwin Flury, who is working with a ten-strong organising committee to activate the constantly evolving bike culture around sport, leisure and mobility.

The ABC of Cycling and more
The lively CYCLE WEEK happenings spread around the city to the venues Europaallee, Brunau, Josefwiese, Jumppark Sihlcity, to the surrounding bike routes - and with the CYCLE WEEK CHANNEL online everywhere. Those who want to gain more safety in city traffic, by day and by night, will enjoy the Safety Parcours in Europaallee with dark tent, e-bike ABS test, traffic simulators and other posts. In cooperation with the city of Zurich, the practical test raises awareness of the most common traffic sections. In addition, Switzerland's largest Velo Expo will feature a range of hip offers for trend-seeking urban cyclists: City, cargo, children's and e-bikes with the corresponding product trends, from accessories to accessories, everything can be found here. Inspiration for cycling trips and destinations will make you want to ride your bike from the city into the countryside. The CYCLE WEEK venue Brunau offers the gateway to this. At the starting point of the signposted test routes for racing bikes, gravel bikes, mountain and e-mountain bikes, there is the Bike Village for nature lovers with a large selection of off-road test bikes.


Itchy hands and feet
If you have itchy hands and feet, you can get started with the almost endless range of rides and workshops. Ski star Ramon Zenhäusern takes twelve bike fans on the easy FocusWater Flow Ride through the Sihl Valley. The competition winners can go a bit faster and sportier on the Gravelbike Tour with former racing bike pro and 14-time Tour de France stage winner Marcel Kittel himself, or on the #fastandfemale racing bike ride for women among themselves. For those interested in culture, there is the Urban Ride to special places in the Zurich metropolis. And for e-bikers, the presenting sponsor Zurich Insurance will be offering several daily trial riding courses in which participants will learn how to correctly assess weight, acceleration and braking distance. The youngsters can get rid of their energy in the Kids Race and improve their riding technique in a playful way in the Bikecontrol course from Swiss Cycling. How to plan a mountain bike tour, how to maintain and repair your bike or how to mend bike bags - there is also a suitable workshop. And if you want to have your bike checked for safety, you can turn to the mobile workshop of Bike World, which can also carry out small repairs.

Spectacular against each other: Urban Cyclocross, ZüriDirt Contest, Cycle Hero
Not only with each other, but also against each other: the visitors can look forward to a great spectacle at the competitions, where the potential of bike and rider is brought out. Bicycle acrobats of the air will fight for rank and name at the international ZüriDirt Contest, which is part of the FMB World Tour with silver status. Local hero and world number 8 Lucas Huppert will be among them, competing against the best in the world in front of his home crowd at the Jumppark in Brunau - and possibly flying onto the podium. Athletes of the impressive Urban Cyclocross will fly around your ears. During the round around the Josefwiese and the viaduct, riders and their bikes will be put to the test in a tough and adventurous way. Those who want to cycle against others in the saddle are challenged at the Cycle Hero by Shimano. The fastest legs on mountain bike, gravel bike and road bike are sought here: Three disciplines, three defined Strava segments, a live ranking and unlimited attempts. The start of the Cycle Hero is Friday, July 30. From then on, everyone can ride the three routes as often as they want and thus improve their time on the three segments.
The title Cycle Hero and attractive prizes await the winners. Among all participants*innen an exclusive VIP package to the Tour de France for two persons is raffled.

Anytime and from anywhere
The five-day Velofestival also takes place online: Daily at 6pm there will be live broadcasts on CYCLE WEEK CHANNEL. The audience will be informed and entertained, among other things with the inspiring talks on bike topics such as "Coexistence and development in alpine and urban areas" and "Mobility and safety" as well as with product presentations, interviews and contests around the bike. The broadcasts will be produced with cycling experts, opinion leaders and athletes both in the studio and in the midst of the CYCLE WEEK action on the trails, parks and during the contests - wherever the bike is rolling during the CYCLE WEEK. The CYCLE WEEK CHANNEL will be streamed on www.cycleweek.ch as well as on its own YouTube and Facebook channels.


Download ghosted media release as PDF

 

Share this article

07.10.2021
Bike Days and Urban Bike Festival unite for CYCLE WEEK
08.08.2021
Despite everything a successful start of the new Cycle Week
04.08.2021
CYCLE WEEK has opened the bike week in Zurich
13.07.21 - CYCLE WEEK makes Zurich a Swiss cycling mecca
at www.cycleweek.ch.
Presenting sponsor and main sponsors
Sponsors
Media partner

Zürich, 12.-15. Mai 2022

27.07.2021 – Zürich wird für fünf Tage zur spektakulären Velostadt

Zürich wird fünf Tage lang zur Velostadt: Vom 4. bis 8. August 2021 rückt die CYCLE WEEK das Velo örtlich und thematisch ins Zentrum. Das grösste Velofestival der Schweiz ist an Vielfältigkeit kaum zu überbieten. «Die CYCLE WEEK verbindet alle und alles rund ums Zweirad: Mensch und Produkt, Stadt und Land, online und offline, Adrenalin und Entspannung, Punkt A und Punkt B, Verkehrssicherheit und Sport, jung und alt, Aussteller*innen und Besucher*innen. Jede und jeder kann sich hier seinen eigenen Velo-Cocktail mixen», verspricht OK-Präsident Erwin Flury, der sich mit einem zehnköpfigen Organisationskomitee für die Aktivierung der sich ständig weiterentwickelnden Velokultur rund um Sport, Freizeit und Mobilität einsetzt.

Das Velo ABC und mehr
Das lebhafte CYCLE WEEK Geschehen verteilt sich in der Stadt auf die Schauplätze Europaallee, Brunau, Josefwiese, Jumppark Sihlcity, auf die umliegenden Velostrecken – und mit dem CYCLE WEEK CHANNEL online überall hin. Wer mehr Sicherheit im Stadtverkehr, bei Tag und bei Nacht, gewinnen will, dem gefällt der Safety Parcours in der Europaallee mit Dunkelzelt, E-Bike ABS-Test, Verkehrs-Simulatoren und weiteren Posten. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt Zürich wird im Praxistest auf die häufigsten Verkehrstücken sensibilisiert. Darum herum reihen sich in der schweizweit grössten Velo Expo hippe Angebote für trendsuchende Stadtvelofahrer*innen: City-, Cargo, Kinder- und E-Bikes mit den dazu gehörenden Produkte-Trends, von Accessoires bis zum Zubehör findet sich hier alles. Inspiration für Velo-Reisen und -Destinationen machen Lust, mit dem Velo von der City in die Natur zu fahren. Das Tor dazu bietet der CYCLE WEEK Schauplatz Brunau. Beim Ausgangspunkt der signalisierten Teststrecken für Rennvelos, Gravelbikes, Mountain- und E-Mountainbikes gibt es hier für Naturliebhaber*innen das Bike Village mit einer grossen Auswahl an geländegängigen Testvelos.


Juckende Hände und Füsse
Wen es in den Händen und Füssen juckt, kann beim schier endlosen Angebot an Rides und Workshops durchstarten. Skistar Ramon Zenhäusern nimmt zwölf Velofans auf dem lockeren FocusWater Flow Ride durch das Sihltal mit. Etwas schneller und sportlicher wird es für die Wettbewerbsgewinner*innen auf der Gravelbike-Tour mit dem ehemaligen Rennrad-Profi und 14-fachen Tour de France Etappensieger Marcel Kittel höchstpersönlich oder beim Rennvelo Ride von #fastandfemale für Frauen unter sich. Für Kulturinteressierte gibt es den Urban Ride an besondere Orte der Zürcher Metropole. Und für E-Biker*innen bietet der Presenting-Sponsor Zurich Versicherung mehrmals täglich Schnupper-Fahrkurse an, in denen die Teilnehmer*innen Gewicht, Beschleunigung und Bremsweg richtig einzuschätzen lernen. Die Sprösslinge werden ihre Energie im Kids Race los und verbessern ihre Fahrtechnik spielerisch im Bikecontrol-Kurs von Swiss Cycling. Wie man eine Mountainbike Tour plant, sein Rad pflegt und repariert oder auch Velotaschen flickt – auch dazu gibt’s den passenden Workshop. Und wer sein Rad auf Sicherheit prüfen lassen will, der wendet sich damit an die mobile Werkstatt von Bike World, welche auch kleine Reparaturen durchführen kann.
 

Spektakuläres Gegeneinander: Urban Cyclocross, ZüriDirt Contest, Cycle Hero
Nicht nur miteinander sondern auch gegeneinander: Die Besucher*innen dürfen sich bei den Wettkämpfen auf ein grosses Spektakel freuen, bei dem das Potenzial aus Velo und Fahrer*in geholt wird. Veloakrobaten der Lüfte kämpfen beim internationalen ZüriDirt Contest, der Teil der FMB World Tour mit Silberstatus ist, um Rang und Namen. Mitten dabei ist Lokalmatador und Weltnummer 8, Lucas Huppert, der auf dem Jumppark in der Brunau vor heimischem Publikum gegen die besten der Welt antritt – und möglicherweise aufs Podest fliegt. Einem um die Ohren fliegen werden Athlet*innen des imposanten Radquerrennens Urban Cyclocross. Bei der Runde um die Josefwiese und das Viadukt werden Fahrer*innen und ihre Räder hart und abenteuerlich auf die Probe gestellt. Wer selbst im Sattel gegen andere radeln will, ist beim Cycle Hero by Shimano gefordert. Denn hier werden die schnellsten Beine auf Mountainbike, Gravelbike und Rennrad gesucht: Drei Disziplinen, drei definierte Strava-Segmente, eine Live-Rangierung und unbegrenzt viele Versuche. Start zum Cycle Hero ist Freitag, der 30. Juli. Ab dann kann jede und jeder die drei Strecken beliebig oft fahren und so seine Zeit auf den drei Segmenten verbessern.
Auf die Gewinner*innen warten der Titel Cycle Hero und attraktive Preise. Unter allen Teilnehmer*innen wird ein exklusives VIP-Package zur Tour de France für zwei Personen verlost.
 

Jederzeit und von überall
Das fünftätige Velofestival findet auch online statt: Täglich um 18 Uhr gibt es Live-Sendungen auf dem CYCLE WEEK CHANNEL. Das Publikum wird, unter anderem mit den anregenden Talks zu Bike-Themen wie «Koexistenz und Entwicklung im alpinen und urbanen Raum» und «Mobilität und Sicherheit» sowie mit Produktepräsentationen, Interviews und Contests rund ums Velo, informiert und unterhalten. Die Sendungen werden mit Velo-Fachpersonen, Meinungsbildner*innen und Athlet*innen sowohl im Studio als auch mitten im Geschehen der CYCLE WEEK auf den Trails, Parks und während der Contests, produziert – überall da, wo während der CYCLE WEEK das Rad rollt. Der CYCLE WEEK CHANNEL wird auf www.cycleweek.ch sowie auf dem eigenen YouTubeund Facebook-Kanal gestreamt.


Download geasmte Medienmitteilung als PDF

 

Diesen Artikel teilen

​Melde dich für den Newsletter an

  Anmelden

07.10.2021
Bike Days und Urban Bike Festival vereinen sich zur CYCLE WEEK
08.08.2021
Trotz allem erfolgreicher Auftakt der neuen Cycle Week
04.08.2021
Die CYCLE WEEK hat die Velowoche in Zürich eröffnet
13.07.21 – CYCLE WEEK macht Zürich zum Schweizer Velomekka
Presenting-Sponsor und Hauptsponsoren
Sponsoren
Medienpartner