Zurich, May 11-14, 2023

CYCLE WEEK has opened the bike week in Zurich

Today, until Sunday, Zurich is all about cycling - the first CYCLE WEEK has begun! The largest Swiss bike festival is a melting pot for urban and off-road cyclists and all shades in between. The high number of exhibitors and the numerous opportunities to participate make every cyclist's heart beat faster. The new platform for bike culture around mobility, sports and leisure extends over the Europaallee and Brunau including the surrounding bike routes as well as the side venues Jumppark Sihlcity and Josefwiese - and thanks to the CYCLE WEEK CHANNEL also into the internet.

Safe and easy cycling through Zurich
Based on the "Velostrategie 2030" and the popular initiative "Sichere Velorouten für Zürich", the city of Zurich is pursuing the vision of making cycling in Zurich safe and easy. As the official host city, it is working with the organizer to promote environmentally friendly cycling culture. "In addition to building bicycle-friendly infrastructure, it is important to inform the population and win them over to cycling. The CYCLE WEEK is the appropriate
platform for this. With the Safety Parcours we sensitize the cyclists for the different perspectives of all road users in order to create mutual understanding and to increase the safety of all in traffic", says city councillor Richard Wolff, head of the Department of Civil Engineering and Waste Management, about the close cooperation with the CYCLE WEEK. Because while more and more people are acquiring a taste for cycling as a means of local transport, urban traffic remains treacherous. Staying safe on the road is a challenge.


Workshops and international competitions
The offer of Switzerland's largest Velo Expo with hundreds of test bikes will be completed with bike workshops and rides as well as tingling competitions. While cyclo athletes - such as Germany's Elisabeth Brandau, who has just returned from her MTB mission at the Tokyo Olympics, and elite Swiss champion Kevin Kuhn in the men's category - will be heating up the atmosphere on the Josefwiese in the Urban Cyclocross race on Saturday, the aerial artist Lucas Huppert will be fighting for worldwide triumph on Sunday: The Zurich native will be competing in the international ZüriDirt Contest against Spain's Alejandro Bonafe and Germany's Lukas Schäfer, among others. As the current
number 8 in the FMB ranking, he has the best chance to succeed in front of the CYCLE WEEK audience at the domestic FMB World Tour Contest with silver status. For the spectacular contest CYCLE WEEK has chosen the Jumppark Sihlcity of the local association ZüriTrail to ensure the maximum possible use of existing bike infrastructure.

Ariella Käslin and Nino Niederreiter in a bike duel
For online visitors, there will be an exhilarating celebrity duel on the CYCLE WEEK CHANNEL: artistic gymnast Ariella Käslin and NHL ice hockey player Nino Niederreiter will compete in five atypical bike disciplines in the Zurich Bike Challenge presented by Zurich Insurance. Who will be convincing in the ABS brake test, tube change, on the pump track, in mountain biking or in the bike quiz? The audience can vote in the daily broadcast from 6 to 8 p.m. and experience exciting talks, product presentations, interviews about bicycles as well as the finals of the Urban Cyclocross and the ZüriDirt Contest - at www.cycleweek.ch as well as on the CYCLE WEEK YouTube and Facebook channel.

DOWNLOAD PDF

Share this article

Despite everything a successful start of the new Cycle Week
27.07.2021 - Zurich becomes a spectacular cycling city for five days
13.07.21 - CYCLE WEEK makes Zurich a Swiss cycling mecca
at www.cycleweek.ch.
Presenting Sponsor
Main sponsors
Sponsors
Media partner

Zürich, 11.-14. Mai 2023

Die CYCLE WEEK hat die Velowoche in Zürich eröffnet

Mit dem heutigen Tag steht Zürich bis und mit Sonntag ganz im Zeichen des Velos – die erste CYCLE WEEK hat begonnen! Das grösste Schweizer Velofestival ist ein Schmelztiegel für Stadt- und Geländevelofahrer*innen und aller Schattierungen dazwischen. Das hohe Ausstelleraufkommen und die zahlreichen Mitmachmöglichkeiten bringen jedes Veloherz zum Pochen. Die neue Plattform für Velokultur rund um Mobilität, Sport und Freizeit erstreckt sich über die Europaallee und Brunau inkusive der umliegenden Velostrecken sowie über die Nebenschauplätze Jumppark Sihlcity und Josefwiese – und dank des CYCLE WEEK CHANNELS auch ins Internet.

Sicher und einfach mit dem Velo durch Zürich
Abgestützt auf die «Velostrategie 2030» und die Volksinitiative «Sichere Velorouten für Zürich» verfolgt die Stadt Zürich die Vision, das Velofahren in Zürich sicher und einfach zu machen. Als offizielle Host-City fördert sie zusammen mit dem Veranstalter die umweltfreundliche Velokultur. «Nebst dem Bau velofreundlicher Infrastruktur ist es wichtig, die Bevölkerung zu informieren und fürs Velo zu gewinnen. Die CYCLE WEEK ist die geeignete
Plattform dafür. Mit dem Safety Parcours sensibilisieren wir die Velofahrer*innen für die verschiedenen Perspektiven aller Verkehrsteilnehmer*innen, um gegenseitiges Verständnis zu schaffen und die Sicherheit aller im Verkehr zu erhöhen», sagt Stadtrat Richard Wolff, Vorsteher des Tiefbau- und Entsorgungsdepartement, zur engen Zusammenarbeit mit der CYCLE WEEK. Denn während immer mehr Leute auf den Geschmack kommen und das Velo als Nahverkehrsmittel einsetzen, bleibt der Stadtverkehr tückisch. Auf der Strasse sicher unterwegs zu sein, ist eine Herausforderung.


Workshops und internationale Wettkämpfe
Das Angebot der schweizweit grössten Velo Expo mit hunderten von Testvelos wird mit Velo- Workshops und -Ausfahrten sowie mit prickelnden Wettkämpfen komplettiert. Während Radquerathlet*innen – wie die deutsche Elisabeth Brandau, welche eben erst von ihrem MTBEinsatz an den Olympischen Spielen in Tokio zurückgekehrt ist, und der Elite Schweizer Meister Kevin Kuhn bei den Männern – die Stimmung auf der Josefwiese im Urban Cyclocross Rennen am Samstag anheizen, kämpft der Flugkünstler Lucas Huppert am Sonntag um weltweiten Triumph: Der Zürcher tritt beim internationalen ZüriDirt Contest unter anderen gegen den Spanier Alejandro Bonafe und den Deutschen Lukas Schäfer an. Als aktuelle
Nummer 8 in der FMB Rangierung hat er beim heimischen FMB World Tour Contest mit Silberstatus beste Chancen vor den Augen des CYCLE WEEK Publikums zu reussieren. Für den spektakulären Contest hat die CYCLE WEEK den Jumppark Sihlcity vom lokalen Verein ZüriTrail gewählt um die maximal mögliche Nutzung bestehender Veloinfrastrukturen sicherzustellen.

Ariella Käslin und Nino Niederreiter im Velo-Duell
Für die online Besucher gibt es auf dem CYCLE WEEK CHANNEL ein erheiterndes Promi-Duell: Die Kunstturnerin Ariella Käslin und der NHL-Eishockeyspieler Nino Niederreiter messen sich in der Zurich Bike Challenge presented by Zurich Versicherung in fünf atypischen Velo-Disziplinen. Wer überzeugt beim ABS Bremstest, Schlauchwechsel, auf dem Pumptrack, beim Bergfahren oder im Veloquiz? Das Publikum kann in der täglichen Sendung von 18 bis 20 Uhr per Vote mitentscheiden und spannende Talks, Produktepräsentationen, Interviews rund ums Velo sowie das Finale des Urban Cyclocross und des ZüriDirt Contests miterleben – auf www.cycleweek.ch sowie auf dem CYCLE WEEK YouTube- und Facebook-Kanal.
 

DOWNLOAD PDF

Diesen Artikel teilen

​Melde dich für den Newsletter an

  Anmelden

Trotz allem erfolgreicher Auftakt der neuen Cycle Week
27.07.2021 – Zürich wird für fünf Tage zur spektakulären Velostadt
13.07.21 – CYCLE WEEK macht Zürich zum Schweizer Velomekka
Presenting-Sponsor
Hauptsponsoren
Sponsoren
Medienpartner